Coronavirus forces early closure of Italian and Austrian ski resorts

Following the closure of all Italian ski resorts earlier this week, it has been announced that all Austrian ski resorts in Tirol, Vorarlberg and Salzburgerland regions of the country will suspend operations from 15th March 2020.

The resorts affected include some of the largest ski resorts in Europe such as St Anton, Lech-Zurs, Kitzbuhel, Saalbach, Solden, Soll, Obergurgl, Mayrhofen, Stuben , Kirchberg, Westendorf, Innsbruck Olympia SkiWorld and Ischgl (which had already announced its closure due to an outbreak of the virus).

The Austrian resorts may be allowed to re-open in April but most believe this is unlikely to happen.

Back To Top